Patent registration in ARIPO

ARIPO is mandated to grant patents on behalf of the Contracting States to the Harare Protocol in accordance with the provisions of the Harare Protocol on Patents, Designs and Utility Models.

Harare Protocol

The Harare Protocol was adopted on 10 December 1982 in Harare, Zimbabwe. The protocol entered into force in 1984.

Under the protocol, an applicant for a patent may, by filing a single application, designate any of the contracting states to the Harare Protocol in which he wishes to obtain protection.

There are 20 Contracting States, namely Botswana, Cape Verde, Kingdom of Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Do you want to register your patent in ARIPO?