Filing requirements: Community Trade Marks

Community Trade Mark (CTM) is a trade mark registered in OHIM (Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market) which is valid across the European Union territory in accordance with the provisions set forth in Community Trademark Regulations.


CTM filing requirements

OHIM is located in Spain, and is the European Agency responsible for the registrations of trademarks valid in the 27 Member States of the EU: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.

Prior to any investment in the CTM registration is highly recommended an initial viability study.

Known the advantages of the community trademark registration there are an increasingly numerous of companies from outside the European Union that are interested in registering their brand portfolio in the EU.

CTM filing requirements:

  • Name and address of the applicant and country of incorporation.
  • Trade mark identification. (more…)